The Minimalist Living Plan On How To Save Money In 2012

6 01 2012

Source:http://minimalistlifestyle.wordpress.com/2012/01/06/the-minimalist-living-plan-on-how-to-save-money-in-2012/

Living a minimalist lifestyle tends to make things simple. At least it should. You evaluate what is important to you, eliminate the excess from your life and live simply.

The best part of minimalist living is that it is whatever you need it to be.

But sometimes even those of us who are into minimalism still need a plan on how to save money.

You may be thinking, if a person is living a minimalist lifestyle, why do they even need to save money?

Here are just a few of the reasons for me:

  • retirement
  • emergency fund
  • travel
  • my son
  • upcoming expenses

My licence plates on my car are due to be renewed in May so I should save money for that starting now. That is just one example.

My girlfriend has a birthday coming up. Enough said.

So what should you do to help you save money in 2012?

You need to go back and look and every penny you spent in 2011. This is not easy because a lot of us do not what to face this. You may have wasted money on needless items. I did.

One of the biggest things I waste money on is junk food. Yup. For all I go on about healthy living and healthy eating I am a junk food addict.

So junk food is out for 2012. Hell that could be a trip somewhere for me in the coming year!

  • How many magazines did you buy?
  • How much money did you spend at restaurants and fast food?
  • What about money spent on all the electronic devices such as cell phones, internet and cable television? Is there a way to cut back on some of this?
  • Instead of spending money on entertainment(going to the movies), try to find entertainment options that cost nothing.

My point is that a lot of us just plain waste money. We complain about not making enough.

It is not about how much money you make. It is all about the decisions you make with the money you have.

So sit down and look at what your biggest waste areas are and try to cut them out.

Next you need to commit to saving a certain dollar amount from each and every paycheck. Try to save 50.00$ per paycheck or 75$ or more. Just do it. I know you think you can’t, but again you are probably wasting that much every two weeks on stuff you don’t really need.

You will find that once you start saving this money you won’t even miss it.

Is there a way to earn a few extra dollars? Take an extra shift or two at work perhaps.

Start a part time business.

Sell some of your extra stuff to earn some extra cash.

I make 35000.00 per year at my job. That is before taxes. I saved 10000.00$ last year. I wasted probably another 2000.00 on stuff I did not need. At least! So I could do a lot better.

I need to start grocery shopping from a list. No wonder I end up buying junk food!

It would be very beneficial to sit down and come up with a household budget. A list of fixed expenses and expenditures.

If you serious about saving money this year and getting your finances on track you have to take things seriously. It doesn’t just happen on its own. You have to track every penny spent, and commit to putting money aside.

It can be done. If I can do it, you can do it too.

What have I missed? What else should we be doing to save money and live a minimalist lifestyle? Please share your ideas in the comments.

And please share this using social media.

“Live Simply”


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

